Indie Grits is a four day event celebrating the visionary, experimental culture of the southeast with film, art, music, and bits.

About Us:

What started as a DIY festival for a tight-knit and dedicated audience, Indie Grits has grown into a staple of the city’s cultural life, giving novice to advanced media makers from across the Southeast a venue for sharing their interest in independent media making, while also giving thousands of visitors and locals access to a progressive cultural life unmatched in the Southeast.

Indie Grits filmmakers alumni have showcased their films at festivals like SXSW and Sundance, and we were named one of the 25 “Coolest Film Festivals” in the world by Moviemaker Magazine in 2019.

History:

Propelled by an expansive artistic vision in 2006, festival organizers sought to break down the walls intimidating Southern media makers by creating exhibition opportunities for work often overlooked elsewhere. Anchored by the spirit of its host, the Nickelodeon Theatre – South Carolina’s only non-profit, art house theatre – Indie Grits has become an annual pilgrimage for independent artists in search of community.

Indie Grits’ rapidly growing programs are garnering support from national funders as we provide the tools to make, interpret, appreciate, and teach the moving image in all its variety. Recently, Columbia Film Society created Indie Grits Labs to consolidate the festival, the creation of new media artwork, and media education.

Building off of our first artist residency in 2014, Indie Grits 2015 was a themed festival which commissioned over 20 artists to create new works interacting directly with our Columbia community. That approach encouraged a collaborative community of artists to create work around a common theme using a wide range of disciplines and approaches such as painting, filmmaking, game development, community organization, horticulture, music, storytelling, sculpture, and photography.

With the creation of Indie Grits Labs the themes became focused incubation projects, and have changed yearly with each new cohort of artists. In “Waterlines” (2016), artists tackled the October 2015 floods that devastated parts of S.C. In “Visiones” (2017), artists explored the rapid immigration from Latin America that is changing the face of the Southeast. Developing these projects has grown into a year-round process of research, discussion and creation.

Mission:

Our filmmakers come first. We offer dedicated support for filmmaker hospitality including a fully stocked filmmaker lounge, a filmmaker travel/lodging fund, and a range of awards and opportunities. The festival also offers panels, work-in-progress screenings, post-screening discussions, and filmmaker exclusive events.

Propelled by a far-flung artistic vision, festival organizers seek to break down the walls intimidating Southern media makers by creating exhibition opportunities for work often overlooked elsewhere. We host a wide range of cultural events featuring the very best of art, music, and experimental media from the Southeast. Festival goers can come out and pick their poison: dark theaters, music in the streets, late night drinks with like-minded souls, the antics of crazy, sharp-witted, dream-casting puppeteers, and a world of art embedded into the very environment they inhabit.

A guiding principle of the festival is that independent media should be celebrated as an end in itself and not be looked at as simply a springboard to big budget movie making. With that in mind, we look for truly unique, independent work that wouldn’t necessarily find its way into other festivals.


Festival Staff

Without these people, Indie Grits would not be possible!

Seth Gadsden

Director, Indie Grits Labs

film programming, festival events programming, Rural Project coordination

e: seth@indiegrits.org

Carrie Grebenc

Development and Operations Director

festival sponsorships, passes & ticketing, theater operations

e: carrie@indiegrits.org

Ashleigh Lancaster

Public Relations

festival press, public relations, and marketing

e: ashleigh@indiegrits.org

Phill Blair

Logistics

festival event logistics, satellite spaces, music, beer & food wrangler

e: phillblair@gmail.com

Savannah Taylor

Designer / Project Manager

festival graphic design, merchandise, and social media

e: savannah@indiegrits.org

Steffi Brink

Programming Coordinator

film programming, DCP trafficking

e: steffi@indiegrits.org

Mahkia Greene

Media Education Instructor, Indie Grits Labs

intern video crew lead, film programming

e: mahkia@indiegrits.org

Lillian Burke

Rural Project Coordinator

Rural Project fellows and art proposals coordinator, film programming

e: lillian@indiegrits.org

Amanda Windsor

Nickelodeon Marketing Manager

film marketing, film programming

e: amanda@nickelodeon.org

Omme-Salma Rahemtullah

Nickelodeon Programming Coordinator

post-film discussions, community outreach, film programming

e: omme@nickelodeon.org

Amada Torruella

Festival Coordinator

film programming, post-film discussions, event coordination

e: amada@indiegrits.org

Aaron Walker

volunteer coordinator

volunteer outreach and management, film programming

e: aaron@indiegrits.org

Ony Ratsimbaharison

Filmmaker Hospitality

filmmaker experience, lodging, travel

e: ony@indiegrits.org

Adrian Williams

Projectionist / IT

Nickelodeon projectionist

e: adrian@nickelodeon.org

Torres Perkins

Nickelodeon Theater Manager

FOH experience, Nick volunteer coordinator

e: torres@nickelodeon.org

Deborah Adedokun

Nickelodeon Theater Manager

FOH experience, Special Events Coordinator

e: deborah@nickelodeon.org

Bree Burchfield

Nickelodeon Theater Manager

FOH experience, concessions

e: bree@nickelodeon.org

Keelyn Rogers

Nickelodeon Theater Manager

FOH experience

e: keelyn@nickelodeon.org

Josh Yates

Media Arts Professor, University of South Carolina

film programming